Skip to content

A brief introduction

August 30, 2008

As some of you already know and many more of you do not, I have begun the process of writing a book. I expect this to be the most intensive project I have undertaken, and I have decided to document the process through a blog for a few reasons.

The first is simply to keep interested friends and acquaintances abreast of my progress. At the very least, it will be easier to just proffer around a URL than to relate the same partial bits of information over and again to whatever number of people. That is, the same mass of people gets the information, but I only have to tell it once.

Second, as this is unlike any sort of writing project I’ve pursued in the past, I am looking for advice wherever I can find it. This medium offers the potential to receive suggestions from others, whether or not they themselves have completed such a work. Hopefully, a few published authors can find their way here and impart on me some wisdom on the process, but any and all advice, regardless of its origins, will at least be considered. I therefore encourage anyone who reads this to leave even the tersest comments they can come up with.

Last, while my intentions (and expectations) are not to sell a million billion copies of this book, I definitely would like to see it published and read by the greatest number of people. Thus, it is my hope that this blog generates some level of interest and exposure for the project, helping me find a publisher and generating publicity for the book.

Because this account is secondary to the book itself, I will obviously need to withhold a great deal of information. It would not make for a terrific book (nor a terribly marketable one) if all of the content therein were available in another form online months beforehand. So while a few anecdotes might make their way into this blog, most of the content here will focus more on the actual process of information gathering and less on the information gathered.

More to come.

One Comment leave one →
  1. Anonymous permalink
    August 30, 2008 12:32 PM

    Can’t wait to buy all your copies :)

Leave a Reply

