Skip to content

A slow start

September 6, 2008

Though not totally unexpected, things have been moving slowly thus far. It’s a bit discouraging, but if there’s one thing that interviewing hundreds of musicians has taught me over the past few years, it’s that they can be a tough group to get in touch with.

For one thing, they’re often on the road, and aside from just being busy, they spend a lot of time in cars/vans/buses without great access to phones or internet. On top of that, many of the musicians I’ve interviewed (as well as the majority of those I plan to interview for this project) can’t support themselves on their music careers alone; they need to work second and sometimes third jobs to make ends meet, so naturally they don’t have a lot of down time.

It’s also easy to forget these guys have personal lives, too — in many cases, even kids. I understand fully why they don’t have much time to reach out to me with this project, especially as the plans I’ve laid out seem so far off.

But it’s still a little discouraging. I’ve made a few contacts within the collective, but none of them have been very quick to respond regularly. Again, I can sympathize, but I hope it picks up soon.

One Comment leave one →
  1. mat(t) permalink
    September 6, 2008 6:04 PM

    They’re all probably getting ready for that variety show thing that they’re going to be touring with this fall. Maybe you could try to catch them on the tour?

    Best of luck. I will be checking back…

    mss

Leave a Reply

