Skip to content

The future’s (not) always perfect

September 11, 2008

I got an interesting, unsolicited e-mail today from a prominent American newspaper, imploring me to apply for its (well-paying) summer internship, a position that would result in either a full-time position at the end of the 12-week program at this newspaper, or at the very least a substantive resumé builder.

This was terrific news. It completely made my day. But it also brought to the forefront two haunting facts:

1) I am a senior. I will be graduating in May. While this book idea is all nice, it has an obsolescence that comes at best after the book is published and at worst when I’ve been forced to abandon the project outright. Basically, I need to make sure I leave some time in my days to start looking for some sort of job. It doesn’t help that I have absolutely no idea how to do this.

2) If I do land a job somewhere for when I get out of school, it’s not a given that I’ll have the entire month of June to spend leisurely in Athens, Georgia. This program in particular begins mid-June and doesn’t seem to be terribly flexible in that regard. If I want it (and at this juncture, I do), I’ll have to make a decision: put the book project on indefinite hiatus until I become a star reporter and can afford to take a full month or so off from work, or turn down the job offer and pursue this project.

So basically, whether or not I have a job waiting for me, I’m going to have some thinking to do.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

