Skip to content

October is eternal

October 30, 2008

I’m shipping home tomorrow afternoon, mostly to go to the Of Montreal concert at the Electric Factory at night (although I’ll be spending the rest of the weekend at home).

Though it’s a bit of a letdown to have to miss most of the trappings that come with Halloween (my favorite holiday), I doubt I’ll end up too disappointed. At the very least, I’ll be at an Of Montreal concert with a thousand other people (and at least three or four friends), and there’s a possibility I’ll be speaking with a member of the band.

As I’m not leaving State College until 2ish, I probably won’t be home until around 5:30 and thus can’t get into the city until 6:30 or so. As the show stars at 8:30, there probably won’t be time for any sort of interview prior to the show, and as I seem to have lost contact with both the band member and the publicist over the last few days, it remains to be seen if I’ll get anything at all. As seems to be the usual, the life of this project hangs in the balance.

As was the case for the last E6 show I attended, I’m preparing for the best and the worst at the same time. That is, I’m readying myself with questions and equipment and all that stuff in the event of a 4-hour interview and exploring recourse should I be unable to get within a hundred feet of anyone pertinent.

In actuality, I’m hoping for and expecting something in between, something like a brief, off the record conversation with someone after the show, just to lay some groundwork. As I mentioned in regard to the last show, actual interviews for information-gathering purposes can totally be done over telephone or e-mail, but a little bit of interpersonal contact, a mere live meeting, goes a long way toward establishing legitimacy, and that’s still what I need most.

In more positive news, I had a story published on the front page of the Lewistown Sentinel today. It’s not the best thing I’ve ever written, not an incredibly engaging read, and was published in a paper with barely half the circulation of the Daily Collegian, but it’s something.

The good news is that covering a political event was well outside the realm of my typical areas of expertise. I’ve covered speeches and stuff for journalism classes, but never for real and never anyone like Bill Clinton. Also, I’m supposedly getting paid, which is a nice change of pace.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

