Skip to content

It’s happening

December 10, 2008

It’s official.

I’m heading down to Athens on January 2 and returning on January 7. I’m borrowing either Mom’s new Volvo or Pop-pop’s old ass Jeep to do it. A hotel has not yet been booked, but there are a few places charging around $50-60 a night, which for five nights should work out to less than $300.

Gas prices have basically halved since I initially planned this out, so that’ll be way cheaper as well. I’ll be driving a distance of about 1,500 miles round trip, so if I can get around 18 or 19 miles per gallon (a conservative estimate, I think) and pay around $2 a gallon, I’m looking at less than $200 for gas money.

$500 is a decent amount of money, but I also have (at least) two people going with me, and while I’m not expecting them to split the costs with me evenly (they are, after all, doing me something of a favor by coming along, even if it’s not much of a chore), I think it should alleviate the costs a bit.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

