Skip to content

Imminent departure

January 2, 2009

I’m hitting the road in about an hour and a half. Google Maps tells me I have nearly 13 hours of driving ahead of me, not to mention probably three or four stops for gas, at least one or two of which will include time for food. It’s going to be a long day.

Once we get there, Tom and I will be staying in the Athens Howard Johnson’s. For a laugh, check out the Hotels.com review section of said hotel. People have awfully high expectations for a Howard Johnson’s.

Anyway, the room supposedly has internet access, so I’ll try to check in again when I get there.

Ultimately, the lodging is a bit cheaper than I originally expected, and gas prices have absolutely disappeared compared to what they were when I first planned this whole thing out (nearly $4.00 a gallon this summer versus ~$1.60 right now).

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

