Skip to content

Don’t you ever change your mind

January 3, 2009

Well, we just checked in to the hotel, and I have to say I’m impressed. I’ve certainly stayed in nicer places, but for how little we’re paying for this room, it’s more than I expected. I don’t expect to spend much waking time here, but at least I won’t be sleeping in squalor.

Anyway, I left my house around 1 p.m. today and pulled into the Howard Johnson’s parking lot around 2 a.m. Those 13 hours also include: picking up Tom, stopping for gas four times, and getting food during two of those gas stops. Suck it, Google Maps.

The drive down here was easier than I could have possibly foreseen. There was no traffic anywhere, the weather was obscenely clement the entire way (but for a bit of fog in South Carolina and into Georgia), I saw next to no cops, and we didn’t get lost or turned around once.

Things are looking great so far. Beyond all that, within ten minutes of being in the car, Neutral Milk Hotel’s “Gardenhead/Leave Me Alone” came on the radio. If that isn’t an omen of some kind, I don’t know what is.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

