Skip to content

Things to do in Philly

May 31, 2009

I spent yesterday afternoon at the Art Star Craft Bazaar at Penn’s Landing, an arts and crafts sale (lots of cool stuff that I don’t need) and outdoor concert. The only bands we paid attention to were Toy Soldiers (whom I had seen before as a two- or three-piece but who performed as a nine-piece and killed) and, the main reason I was there, Folklore.

(Click to enlarge)

Folklore, as I’ve mentioned before, is the project of Elf Power guitarist, former Athenian and current Philadelphian Jimmy Hughes. In Folklore, he sings and plays guitar.
Though Jimmy had sent me a couple of his CDs last summer when I interviewed him, this was the first time I had the chance to see his band live (as you’ll recall, I saw him with Elf Power when they came through State College in January). They didn’t really seem comfortable in the outdoor setting and it certainly wasn’t the sort of music a lot of the crowd was expecting, but I really dug the set. Luckily for me, I’ll have the chance to see them again in about a month.

On July 8, Madeline’s summer tour stops in Philadelphia at the North Star. Folklore will be opening, as well as a couple other bands (Athens’ The Ginger Envelope and Philly’s Ape School).

In addition to getting to see a stellar concert, this show provides a few opportunities:

-I get to schmooze a bit with E6ers like Jimmy, Madeline and whomever is in Madeline’s touring band at the time. Networking ftdub.
-I can pitch a preview of the show to City Paper and Philly Weekly in the hopes of extending my freelance career into the “paid” arena.
-I can grab an interview with somebody from one of the bands to publish probably anywhere (perhaps even here).

I still have no idea when I’ll be able to get to Athens, but for the time being, it still seems like I can take baby steps from the Philadelphia area.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

