Skip to content

Another big day

June 14, 2009

Today (the day of the Robbert Bobbert show) went well, though it didn’t start off that way.

Though I set my alarm clock for 8 a.m., I didn’t wake up until 9:30 for some reason. I have never, ever overslept in my entire life, but I did today. I rushed out of the house in about ten minutes, picked up Leah and still got to the city with time to spare. And, because it was Sunday, I didn’t have to pay for parking (which was good because I only had about 75 cents in change and couldn’t find a garage).

Anyway, the show was quite clearly aimed at little kids, littler even than barely 10-year-old Leah.

And even though she was probably a bit bored, Leah is too nice a kid to have let me know she didn’t have a good time. We went out to lunch afterward, so maybe that made up for it. At any rate, I appreciate her coming along with me.
Getting to meet Robert Schneider after, though, was stellar. Tangibly speaking, I got his personal e-mail address, which was a big get. More important, however, was the interaction we had.

First, he’s disarmingly charismatic and overwhelmingly nice. He seemed genuinely flattered (the word he used was “honored” that I’d be willing to write a book about him and the Elephant Six Recording Company. He offered to do whatever he could to help and seems like the kind of guy who will go out of his way to keep that sort of pledge.

And he’ll definitely be helpful. Just last night, he discovered some concept drawings for the Elephant Six logo that Will Hart designed so many years ago, the night before it was due for pressing the original Apples in Stereo 7″ (a 7″ that somehow had three songs on each side). On top of that, he has copies of the masters of every Elephant Six release ever. In short, he has a lot to offer someone trying to write about this whole thing, not that that’s the least bit unexpected. I’m damn happy I met him today.

Some pictures from the show:

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

