Skip to content

Last night

September 9, 2009

I got home from the show late last night and went right to bed, so I didn’t have a chance to offer my recap of the evening. Here it is on a partial night’s rest.

I originally intended to get to the venue in the early evening (5 or 6) to hang out with the band(s), but they let me know they were running late (or maybe just according to plan, but at any rate, later than 5 or 6) after driving up from North Carolina that afternoon. They figured they’d arrive around 7:30 or 8, so that’s when I got there.

We walked in around 7:45, so there was no one working the door, but eventually someone came around as my friend and I were seated at a booth. I let him know I had bought my ticket in advance and would be on the will call list, but I noticed I had somehow ended up on the guestlist as well (though no one would cop to putting me on it), so I took the guestlist spot and gave my ticket to my friend, who in return bought me a couple beers (under the guise of “It was your birthday the other day” and “You drove here”).

We then shared our booth with John Fernandes and Will Hart, both of whom were genial despite their eight-hour car ride. John even mentioned that he not only read my review in Flagpole but really liked it, too (I may have baited him by mentioning that the reviews for Signal Morning seem generally positive, but it wasn’t intentional). He also introduced me to a couple of other bandmates.

Then, the show got started, on which I’ll have a more review-y entry in the next day or so. Suffice it to say it was pretty excellent, but I’ll have more on this.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

