Skip to content

More clips: PopMatters debut, another Flagpole review

September 30, 2009

Yesterday, without me even knowing, my first PopMatters piece was published. I found out not by refreshing the site, as I would have done had I seen it coming, but from a text message from a friend saying she had read (and liked!) it. It’s been tweeted and Digged and linked and all sorts of neat Web 2.0 buzzwords. It’s about as much exposure as I’ve had, I think.

Then, today, my second record review for Flagpole went up (electronic version here, hard copy here on page 23), and again it’s a review of an E6 act that I’m hoping might read it.

I consider myself more jaded and disillusioned than most people, especially to many elements of the world of journalism and writing, but I still get a thrill out of seeing my byline. As this job search wears me out, I often question what I want to do with the rest of my life, but when I have things like these published, even though I don’t get a lot of money or recognition for them, I am as sure as I can be.

One Comment leave one →
  1. October 1, 2009 12:21 AM

    Your site was extremely interesting, especially since I was searching for thoughts on this subject last Thursday.

Leave a Reply

