Skip to content

The end of the prologue

December 18, 2009

The line between stupidity and bravery can only be seen with the benefit of hindsight. I will never know what opportunities would have come my way had I never taken this journey, and I will only know if the risk was worthwhile if and when it pays off (and just what constitutes success, I have no idea).

I do know that today is my last day of work. I do not know when I will again have any source of income beyond the pittances I receive for plying my writing on a freelance basis, and I’d be lying if I said that isn’t a little bit frightening. Rarely can our lives be divided into clean gestalts, but today is one of those days.

On the plus side, my expenses these past six months have been minimal (living at home rent-free is wonderful with enough humility), and they won’t be much higher in Athens. It’s unlikely I spend more than half a year in Athens, and if I’m really struggling, I can always abort the project early. Whether this works or not, I am likely not sacrificing much time or money.

But while I don’t have much to lose right now, this is still the biggest risk I’ve taken in my young life. I’ve simply reasoned that it’s a risk worth taking.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

