Skip to content

Throwback Thursday, I

January 21, 2010


While researching this book, I pore over as many relevant articles as I can.
Every Thursday, I’ll highlight one of the good ones.


In the first installment of this series, I will direct my dear readers to a piece Brian Heater put together for PopMatters a few years ago, entitled “I Have Been Floated: An Oral History of the Elephant 6 Collective.” Part I is here, part II here, and part III here.

I’m starting with this one because it’s probably my favorite of the ones I’ve read. In some ways, I’d like my book to end up looking like this, although obviously more exhaustive (you know, book length) and organized into some kind of narrative. It has great bits about so many facets of the Elephant 6, from the humble beginnings in Ruston, La. (“There was a group of us that gelled together, because we didn’t want to be in Whitesnake.” – Will Cullen Hart) to where it is now (“Would I say Elephant 6 is still going? Of course it is, but now we’re trading tapes.” – Scott Spillane) and plenty of the stuff in between. It’s a great read.

On a more personal level, it’s encouraging to see how candid so many of these people were discussing their stories. It’s entirely possible that Heater tried to talk to a hundred people and could only convince the ten or so he got for this story, but given the clout of the folks he interviewed, that seems improbable. More likely, his requests were met with the same amount of enthusiasm as mine have been so far, and everyone followed through. With all due respect to this freelance music journalist I’ve never met and with whose work I’m wholly unfamiliar but for the aforelinked story, if he can do it, why can’t I?

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

