Skip to content

On the road

January 27, 2010

Now that the internet is working in my apartment, let me celebrate my arrival in Athens. After stops in Arlington, Virginia, and Greensboro, North Carolina, I arrived in Athens yesterday afternoon. I drove nearly 800 miles in a span of just a few days, and I’m quite happy to be here.

As I was leaving Greensboro yesterday morning and bidding adieu to my kind host Gerald, I was reminded of Jack Kerouac’s On the Road. When I read the book earlier this summer, I bemoaned the fact that I was a little too late; the 17-year-old me would have appreciated it more than did his 23-year-old analog. I realized yesterday, though, that maybe I was a bit early.

Because I didn’t bring the book with me, I cannot cite text, but anyway this observation is more in regard to the repeated theme within the book of bonding with someone and then departing, knowing neither when nor if you might see them again. Though my time in Greensboro was brief, I did feel as though I bonded with Gerald, and as I told him I’d see him around while dragging the last of my possessions toward my car, I realized I might not ever again. It’s entirely possible I’ll never see him again. And I’m okay with that.

Leave a Reply

