Skip to content

Monthly Inventory, February

February 26, 2010

I have officially been in Athens for exactly one month, so now seems as good a time as any to take stock of what I’ve accomplished in my time here (and, as the above graphic might imply, I plan to do this every month).

At this point, I have few tangible fruits to show for my labor, and I don’t think I’d say it’s been a laborious month. To date, I have exactly two on-the-record interviews completed (one with a music blogger and one with a music journalist who went to UGA in the early ’90s).

But the seeds I’ve sown these past few weeks should start bearing fruit very soon. I’ve now met with about 10 different E6ers, over Mexican food or coffee or beer (and free popcorn) or just some records in their living rooms. And while the circumstances of these meetings are different every time, they have been invariably positive.

There’s also something to be said for getting acclimated here. I was pretty comfortable from the start, but there was a lot of Unknown to deal with, and I think I’ve dealt with it well. A month later, I know where to buy groceries or to get a bowl of vegetarian chili,* and it makes life easier.

In the next month, I plan to meet a bunch more people (I only have a few more names on my list to check off, but I expect that list to grow anyway), and meet again with the people I’ve already met. Keep building that rapport.

____________________________________________

*As a side note, I have not eaten any meat since I arrived in Athens. I have no idea how long this will last, but considering I had never gone three or four days without chicken or beef for as long as I can remember, I’m pretty proud of myself. I’ve also still not eaten a salad, and don’t expect to.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

