Skip to content

Phase 2: ????

March 29, 2010

This week, possibly as soon as tomorrow, I’m taking the next step with this project: the on-the-record interview.

To be fair, I’ve already conducted about a dozen different recorded interviews. Most of them have been over the phone, but a few have been of the face-to-face variety.

The difference between those and the interviews I intend to begin conducting this week is the subjects. So far, the people I’ve done formal interviews with have been what I’ve earlier termed “peripherals”: prominent music critics, booking agents, longtime friends. These people play an important role in telling fully the story of the Elephant 6 Recording Company, but even more important are the musicians themselves.

To this point, I’ve taken it slow with these people, because of how valuable their contributions are. With peripherals, it’s okay to jump right into interviews, but with the musicians, it’s important to build comfort and trust first. There are still plenty with whom I need to continue cultivating that relationship before doing anything formal, and there are even a few people I’ve yet to meet. But there are a few (whose names I’ll withhold until the interviews are completed) with whom I feel alright taking this next step.

One Comment leave one →
  1. March 30, 2010 2:34 PM

    Love the graphic. The underpants gnomes’ philosophy pretty much explains my life.

Leave a Reply

