Skip to content

Monthly Inventory, March

March 30, 2010

It’s now been two months.

I now have twelve on-the-record interviews completed, ten more than I did one month ago. I have tentative plans (aren’t they all tentative?) for several more in the near future, including no fewer than three with real, live Elephant 6ers this week. April is shaping up to be the busiest month yet.

That is, not only has the list of people I’ve met grown, but the list of people I would still like to talk to has grown as well. This project has legs.

In April, I plan to focus heavily on the interviews with people on the “inside” of the Elephant 6; I’ll continue to talk to others for background and context and stuff, but it’s important I focus on the main characters of this story. As mentioned, I have interviews with three of them scheduled between now and Sunday, and that number might double by tomorrow. I don’t want to put a number on it (quality being so much more pertinent than quantity), but I expect an awful lot of interviews in April. The next Monthly Inventory should have much more to report.

I’ve also begun composing, though I haven’t written much just yet. I’ve got about 4,000 words of manuscript, a rough three-page outline, and then countless notes scattered across notepads, napkins, receipts, junk mail, and other bits of ephemera, as well as a few different .docs and .rtfs. In the coming weeks, I expect the manuscript and outline to grow and the notes to be at least a bit more organized.

In other news, updating the footnote from February’s Inventory, I am somehow still a vegetarian, save for one brief, worthwhile lapse at White Tiger Gourmet, without whose pulled pork sandwich I did not think I could properly get the Athens experience. Other than that, though, no meat whatsoever. And I’ve lost five lbs.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

