Skip to content

Belated Monthly Inventory, April

May 10, 2010

I’m a little late on this one, but I didn’t want to skip it entirely.

The month of April was sort of a wash. I spent about half the month away from Athens and without my computer, which meant I didn’t do any work in that time.

The good news is, in that first half of the month, I was killing it. I got the ball rolling with a bunch of real, actual interviews, and I really felt like I had momentum. The challenge then was maintaining it; the challenge now is getting back to that point. It’s a lot easier to stay in motion than to accelerate from a stop.

As I’ve begun transcribing my interviews, my outline has grown more than four times, and will continue to grow even faster as I interview people and get their thoughts into writing. Among the various files I have composed (outlines, notes, manuscript, etc.), I have about 12,000 words written, which equates to about 24 pages of published text. Just to give you an idea.

Not all the progress I’m making is tangible. In the first half of April, it felt like I had come a long way when it came to building relationships and contacts, and I don’t think that will take long to restore. I’ll be back in Athens on May 15, which leaves half of the month to get back to where I was.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

