Skip to content

Sun is out

June 15, 2010

So there’s a lot I love about Athens. Rent is cheap. The food is great. The people are nice. The music is plentiful.

One of the things I liked most was how mild the winter was. Until January, I had lived my entire life in Pennsylvania, but I’m still a total wuss about the cold. That snow fell only a few times here and always melted away quickly made my life noticeably better.

Even then, though, I knew it came at a cost. A mild winter meant a brutal summer. That’s just how it works. Still, I was unprepared for this.

For about a week now, it’s been in the mid-90s every day. The temperature has hit triple digits a few times already, and it’s supposed to again today. It certainly doesn’t help that the humidity hovers somewhere in the 400-500% range. It’s gotten to the point where it’s a struggle just to go outside before sunset, and long pants or sleeves are a mistake even in the middle of the night. Oh, also, there’s a heat advisory today.

And it’s not going to get much better any time soon.

I’ve certainly been exposed to heat worse than this. Aside from spending every summer from ages 3 through 19 outdoors as either camper or employee, I’ve spent parts of summers in Florida, Arizona, Texas, California, Spain and France, to name a few. The difference is that Breezy Point Day Camp would see maybe three or four 100-degree-days over the course of the summer or I’d only be on vacation for a few days or a week at a time. Never have I been subjected to so much thermal brutality for so long.

Tenuous relationship between my bitching about the weather and this project:

First, I’ve spent more time in my apartment. Interviews and stuff like that are occurring at a normal frequency (if such a thing exists), but in lieu of sitting around outside reading or writing or whatever, I find myself wanting badly to be indoors. This has meant an increase in transcription, but also an increase in just lazing about.

Second, I think I might become nocturnal. It just makes sense.

Last, I’m still looking for a place to live for the month of August, but you can be damn sure it needs to have air conditioning.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

