Skip to content

The week in review

October 1, 2011

It’s been a good one. In only a few days, I saw the Olivia Tremor Control, Jeff Mangum (twice), the Music Tapes (twice) and a Hawk and a Hacksaw (whom I’m seeing again next week).

Olivia Tremor Control

The Olivias were way tighter than my cell phone camera would have you believe. They had faces, even.

The Music Tapes opened for Olivia on Friday and for Jeff on Monday.  The sets were mostly the same thing, but both were warm and heartfelt. Julian is very much a performer, and while it’s not an act suited well for a rock club, a couple old churches worked just fine.

Every song either has a story or a game that leads into it or gives Julian the chance to use one of his anthropomorphized homemade toys, like the Mechanized Organ-Playing Tower or the 7-Foot-Tall Metronome.

A Hawk and a Hacksaw opened for Jeff on Tuesday. The lineup was a bit different from the last time I saw the band, but the music was the same devastatingly beautiful thing as before.

There’s not much I can say about the Olivias or Jeff that I and others haven’t said before, and to that end, I’m planning to post later in the week an aggregation of the reviews of their respective tours. As much for your benefit as for mine.

I enjoyed these shows as a fan, for sure, but the reason I’m still excited days later is that I got a chance to talk to just about everyone. While I’m living in DC, it’s hard to keep in touch with these guys, and I wouldn’t characterize as easy the logistical backflips I had to pull to see them all, but I still feel enthused by having spent time with them. Seeing folks in person makes it easier to keep up with them from afar.

The Olivia Tremor Control

Leave a Reply

