Skip to content

Remembering Bill Doss

August 8, 2012

It’s been a week. My Facebook feed has been littered with old pictures of Bill and brief, beautiful memories his friends have of him. Last Saturday, many of those friends gathered at the 40 Watt to celebrate his life, with a few of them playing various songs in honor of him: Bryan Poole, Jason NeSmith and Derek Almstead played “NYC-25” and Jeff Mangum, Robert Schneider, Julian Koster and Eric Harris played “Love Athena,” to name just two. I’m disappointed I couldn’t make it down, but I’m glad to hear it was so positive.

I’m not sure I have much to say about Bill that I didn’t say last week. I’ve been thinking about him a lot, of course, but I’ve avoided talking to any of the Elephant 6 folks about it, mostly out of fear of being perceived as some kind of heartless journalistic vulture. I’ve communicated exactly one Elephant 6-affiliated person at all since I got the news, and it was just an email to postpone an interview we had scheduled for this week. I’m still mourning and grieving anyway, and I want to make sure everyone else has enough time and space to get through it without my interference.

Flagpole has done a great job of compiling some thoughts from folks in the Athens music community. It’s safe to say that anyone who has ever played or even listened to music in Athens in the last decade or two was touched by Bill in some way, even if indirectly, but these are some of the people who were closest to him. Their tributes are here:

Remembering Bill Doss (Part I)

Remembering Bill Doss: Much, much more (Part II)

Warning: unless you’ve got a waterproof keyboard, you might want to lay down some plastic or something before clicking the links above. Real tearjerkers, the both of them.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

