Skip to content

A loose deadline

November 5, 2012

I’ll dispense with my standard apologia about not posting more often or having more to post about and get right to the point: I’ve given myself a deadline. I can’t yet say why I’ve chosen it, and I don’t have an exact date in mind, but by the end of next summer (i.e. early September 2013), I expect to have finished the first draft of a manuscript.

You’re maybe asking yourself, “Are you kidding me?” right now. I’ve been working on this for a long ass time by now, and that’s still a long time from now. Fair. The reason it’s not done yet is a combination of my own deficiency in making this more of a priority and the fact that the outstanding loose ends have been more difficult to tie than whatever the inverse of a Gordian knot is. The latter is still out of my hands—I’m relying on other people, as always, and some of those people are, as always, musicians—but the former is all on me.

There are a lot of good things about not having a deadline, and I’ve gone out of my way to avoid having one until today. I didn’t want an external one because I didn’t want to cut myself off from any events that took place after the fact (one of the many challenges of trying to write the comprehensive gestalt of a still-active group of artists), and I didn’t want to impose one on myself because it would have to be arbitrary, which means it would be too malleable to be worth anything at all.

But now I’ve got one. It’s sort of self-imposed, but not without reason, and it’s certainly enough time to finish writing this thing. My only worry is the aforementioned loose ends, but I have to give up on them at some point, and if I haven’t figured them out by then, I might just not be able to. At a certain point, I need to just accept that I can’t fit absolutely everything into this book (especially if I want to convince someone to publish it, or even to read it), and the easiest place to start cutting is the people I can’t even find.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

