Skip to content

Where have you been?

October 22, 2015

Before my most recent entry, I had not updated this blog in about two and a half years. As I’m planning to post more frequently, I figured it would be a good idea to explain why.

Between a rough breakup, two parents battling serious health issues, a bedbug-provoked move, and a big pile of work-related anxiety, I rarely had the free time or mental capacity to write much. When I did, I felt guilty whenever I didn’t spend that scarce time working on the book itself. It was typically only a few hours a week at most, but it would have felt like a waste to spend even 20 minutes blogging when I had such little time to work on the book. (Thus my resignation from my desk job and the forthcoming move back to Athens.)

So in short, I had very little worth blogging about, and even less time to blog about it. Most of what I’ve been doing is stringing together content I’ve already gathered, though I did make a couple trips to Georgia for interviews and to check out a series of Elephant 6 retrospective stuff at galleries around Athens. And while I regret not making more time for this project over the last 5 years or so, working the time- and energy-consuming jobs I’ve worked allowed me to put a little bit of money aside and make this endeavor possible.

I don’t really know what’s in store for me moving forward, but I think I’ve done what I can to remove any foreseeable obstacles and distractions (and much of the safety net protecting me from catastrophe), and in doing so, I’ve eliminated any excuses I may have for not making this happen. If I can’t do it now, I can’t do it. (But I think I can do it.)

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

