Skip to content

Greetings from the Classic City

November 5, 2015

I have arrived in Athens.

The drive down from Philadelphia was, as it always is, long (about 13 hours door to door, including stops for gas and food) but relatively painless. I got in late last night and spent today unpacking and getting settled. I still feel like I’m in transition, and even though I’ve only been gone from Athens for about five years, there’s a bit of a city mouse thing going on. It’s been less than 24 hours, but “isn’t it sort of quaint how nobody seems to be in a rush to get anywhere?” has already given way to “holy SHIT don’t these people have anywhere to be?” So I still have some cultural assimilating to do, along with some logistical stuff (namely finding a modest source of income).

My priority is the writing, though, and my intensive regimen begins tomorrow. Because it’s my first day (and because I have a few minor errands that are nonetheless relatively urgent), I’m aiming for 4-5 hours of work, with a plan to ramp up to 8-10 hours a day within the next few weeks. Eventually, that will include interviews and other sorts of research, but for the short term, that’s all to be spent in front of my computer (though I intend to stave off restlessness by bouncing between my bedroom, coffee shops, libraries, etc. over the course of a given day).

The autonomy I now have is as liberating as it is terrifying. As quickly as possible, I’d like to establish a routine. With structure, I’m confident I can get this done. Without it, that confidence decays, and a writer without confidence is not really a writer.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

